jacklummus.com   Home Page   Search   Contact Us   Site Map  

Click the <Back> arrow to return to the previous page.

Texas High School Football Hall Of Fame

Jack Lummus attended Ennis High School in Ennis, Texas from September of 1931 through May of 1933. He was an outstanding end for the Ennis Lions during those early years of the “Great Depression.” 

Brooks Conover was head coach at Ennis leading the Lions through the 1933 season with only one loss. His team was undefeated and unscored upon through the first five games. On November 3, State Home defeated Ennis 12 to 6 at Tiger Field in Corsicana. In the final game of the season on Friday, November 24, the Waxahachie Indians and Ennis Lions lined up for a 3:00 p.m. kickoff at Yoakum Field in Waxahachie. Ennis defeated Waxahachie 24 to 7. Jack scored two touchdowns, one on an end run and the other on a pass reception, and blocked a punt that led to a third touchdown. During the season, Ennis scored 233 points to their opponents 26. State Home, representing District 17-B, advanced to bi-district defeating Mart, but lost to Gilmer in the regional Class B championship game. 

Jack was growing into a tall, lean, muscular young man with great hands, and the speed and grace of a gazelle. He had earned all-district honors in both his sophomore and junior years. But bad luck followed Jack into the 1934 football season. He missed both semesters of his senior year. He was critically ill with influenza pneumonia. His illness was severe and lengthy, and stole away his vim and vigor, but by spring his health had returned, and in the summer of 1935 he was offered, and accepted, a two year athletics scholarship to Texas Military College in Terrell, Texas. He enrolled in the high school department, and played junior college football in 1935 and 1936 earning all-conference honors before enrolling in Baylor University in September of 1937. 

The Texas High School Football Hall of Fame honored Jack as an inductee in the Class of 2002. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame on April 13, 2002 at the Induction Banquet at Ferrell Center on the campus of Baylor University in Waco, Texas. He was posthumously awarded a plaque and ring. Both are on loan to Ennis High School for display at the Ennis Stadium Complex, 1701 Lake Bardwell Drive adjacent to Ennis High School in Ennis, Texas. 

The Texas High School Football Hall of Fame is part of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame located at 1108 South University Parks Drive in Waco, Texas. Jay Black, Curator of Texas Sports Hall of Fame, created exhibits for each member of the Class of 2002. They are on display at the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.  

“The Texas High School Football Hall of Fame originated in Breckenridge, Texas in 1968. In 1982, Jim Evans, representing the Waco Chamber of Commerce, and Tommy Henderson, President of the Paul Tyson Tiger Association, flew to Breckenridge to meet with the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame Board. Evans and Henderson persuaded the group to move the Hall of Fame to Waco to the Texas Sports Hall of Champions, which was founded and operated by Emadele and Charlie McCleary. On February 18, 1983, the Hall of Fame banquet was held in Waco in conjunction with the Hall of Fame coaching clinic. In 1993, the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame moved into a new building as part of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame; 2002 marks the 20th anniversary of the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame banquet in Waco.” 

The officers in 2002 for the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame are as follows: Mike Anderson, President; Gary Hayden, Vice President; Jerry Hill, Secretary; and John Sheehy, Treasurer. 

The board of directors in 2002 are as follows: Doug Fertsch, Stan Williams, Royce Berger, Jim Evans, Gordon Wood, Dave Campbell, Dr. Bryan Harris, Walter Abercrombie, Tom Gerik, Chuck Saul, Curtis Cleveland, Mike Muhl, Sonny Levy, Doug Dickson, Truman Nix, John Derrick, Tommy Ford, Morris Southall, Len Williams, Frank Dickson, Pete Rowe, Johnny Tusa, Louis Englander, Tom Barfield, Mike Holman, Mike Cadell, Dean Kirkpatrick, Richard Griffin, Brad Strickland, Monte Pritchett and Brian Hobbart. 

The inductees in the Class of 2002 are as follows: 1939 and before, Jack Lummus (Ennis High School, 1931-33); 1940s, Bill Forester (Woodrow Wilson High School, Dallas, 1946-48); 1950s, Buddy Dial (Magnolia High School, 1951-54); 1960s, Gary Mullins (San Angelo Central High School, 1964-66); 1970s, Roosevelt Leaks (Brenham High School, 1968-70); 1980s, Santana Dotson (Jack Yates High School, Houston, 1984-86); 1990s, Rodney Thomas (Groveton High School, 1987-90); Special Category, George Breazeale (Sportswriter for Austin American Statesman, 1950-1995); and Coach, Spike Dykes (Head Coach at Coahoma, Belton, Big Spring, Alice and Midland Lee High Schools, 1964-72 and 1980-83).

The ring is gold and the carving in relief mode with a blue stone. In the left image, Jack Lummus is inscribed on a ribbon of polished gold between the helmet and the crown of the ring. In the center image, the words "TEXAS HIGH SCHOOL" and "HALL OF FAME" are at the top and bottom of the stone. In the right image, the year of induction, 2002, with a star separating the second and third digits are at the top of an outline of Texas. 


Texas High School Football Hall Of Fame (Internet site)

Back to top

Click the <Back> arrow to return to the previous page.

© 1999-2007 Utility Press Inc. All rights reserved.